| |
|
|
The full range of library and information services, such as acquisitions, cataloguing,
loans (including interlibrary loans), reference, microform and audiovisual services,
are provided. Many services can be requested online through electronic forms
at
Staff E-Forms
This page includes information on:1
- Reference queries and user assistance
- Loan services
- Obtaining materials
not in the Library
- Document delivery
- Interlibrary loan
- Electronic Resources via Digital
Library
- Indexes & Abstracts
- Electronic journals
- Current awareness
- Media resources
- Microforms
- Study carrels
- LOIS service
- Contact us
- Library Staff Directory
Services for academic staff include:
- Reference queries and user assistance
- Ask A Librarian
Send simple questions to the library through this electronic form.
A reply can expected in 1 hour or within 3 working days depending on the complexity of
the query. In-person assistance is available at the Information Desks of each library.
- Request for Orientation/Consultation
Arrange for a briefing on library services, library resources relevant to your
research areas, LINC (catalogue) and electronic resources in the Digital Library,
especially new resources.
- Request for Information Skills Tutorial
Arrange for a tutorial to show your students how to use the library, search LINC
(catalogue) for books, search index databases for materials and access electronic
journals and other resources on Digital Library. Classes are tailored to the specific
subject and can be held in conjunction with an assignment.
- Loan services
Services provided at the Loan Counter of each library include:
- Loan of main shelf materials, bound periodicals and reserved books/readings (RBR) materials.
Academic staff may borrow up to 40 items, main shelf books for 28 days and bound journals for 3 days.
- Return of borrowed items from any NUS Libraries (except RBR and CD-ROM materials which
must be returned to the respective library).
- Request to Place Library Materials in Reserve (RBR)
Ask for library materials to be placed in the Reserved Books/Readings (RBR) collection
for your course through this electronic form. Alternatively, contact Head of Circulation
Department, Central Library or Head of the relevant library.
- Request to Place a Hold
- Place a hold or reservation on a item with the status on loan, on order, in process,
in binding. An email is sent when the item is ready to be picked up at the library loan
counter. Collect the item within 5 days.
- Place a hold on an item kept in the closed stacks with the status Request item.
Click on the Request button in LINC when viewing the item. Collect your requested
items from the loan counter. Collection times for Mondays to Fridays are:
request before 10.30am, collect after 1pm the same day; request before 3.30pm,
collect after 6pm the same day; request before 7.00pm (during term),
collect the next working day after 10.00am. Complete details at
http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/help/linc/cscoll.html.
- Renew your loans
Academic staff can renew main shelf books they have borrowed 3 times online using
Login to myLINC at linc.nus.edu.sg.
The loan period is extended for another 28 days from the day the renewal is done.
- Request for Intralibrary Loan
Request for a main shelf book from another library in NUS to be sent to the library
nearest to you. E.g. request a Science Library main shelf book to be sent to Central Library for pick up by you.
- Form for Reporting of Lost Book
that was on loan to you.
- Request to Recall Books
that are on loan and the Library will contact the borrower and try to persuade
and encourage the borrower to return the book as soon as possible.
- Help in searching for misplaced books.
- Obtaining materials not in the Library
- Electronic Resources on Digital Library
www.lib.nus.edu.sg/digital/
- Indexes and abstracts
Access many indexes and abstracts subscribed by the library to find materials on
a particular topic. They are accessible via the NUS Digital Library, with some on
CD-ROM on Windows on NUSNET and standalone workstations in the library.
- Electronic journals
Access the numerous electronic journals subscribed by the library and view or
print the full text of journal articles. They are accessible via the NUS Digital Library,
LINC or by searching indexes, some of which gives links to the electronic journals.
- Current awareness
- Media Resources
- Book viewing rooms for groups by enquiring at Media Resources Department,
Central Library or Information Desk of the relevant Library.
- Advance Booking form for Audio-Visual Materials
Make an advance booking to use and to loan for audio-visual materials for 3 days on
campus. Alternatively, enquire at Media Resources Department, Central Library or
Information Desk of the relevant Library.
- Audio/Video-on-Demand Request Form
Request for a title to be digitized and mounted on the server for course use.
- Request to Purchase New AV Materials/CD-ROMs for the Library
Ask the library to acquire audio-visual materials, through this electronic form.
Alternatively, contact Head of Media Resources Department, Central Library or Head of the relevant Library.
- Microform resources
- View the microforms during office hours. Request at the loan counter of each library.
- Printing from microforms available in during office hours. Charges apply.
- Ask the library to acquire microform materials by contacting Head of Media Resources
Department, Central Library or Head of the relevant Library.
- Study carrels
- Request for use of a study carrel for a short period at the loan counter of the library.
- LOIS (Library Online Information Search) service
- Academic staff members who have used the NUS Libraries resources and are still not able
to find the information needed can try the LOIS Service. It aims to provide a means of
retrieving information from overseas database vendors subscribed by the Library.
Searches are conducted by library staff. More information and request forms are available at
www.lib.nus.edu.sg/guides/loisguid.html.
Please obtain the approval of the department's head before sending the search request to the library. Charges may apply.
The telephone numbers of all library departments are listed in the
NUS Internal Telephone Directory and
Library Website.
The numbers for the Information Desk and Loan Counter in each library,
with a general email address are given below:
| Library | Information | Loans | E-mail |
| Central | 6516-2028 | 6872-0236 |
|
| Chinese | 6516-2039 | 6516-6237 |
|
| Hon Sui Sen Memorial | 6516-3131 | 6516-3130 |
|
| C J Koh Law | 6516-2042 | 6516-2043 |
|
| Medical | 6516-2500 | 6516-2046 |
|
| Science | 6516-2454 | 6516-2509 |
|
Content by: Last updated:
08-10-2008
|
|
|