NUS Library HomeLINC (Library INtegrated Catalogue)NUS Digital LibraryLION (Library Instruction ONline)About UsNUS LibrariesFAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)Contact NUS Library
 
 
 
 

Guide to Library Services

     
 


 

Library Services
Basic Services & Facilities
Additional Services for Academic Staff
Additional Services for Graduate students
Digital Library
Document Delivery Services (DDS)
E-Reserve via IVLE
Library Information Online Services (LOIS)
Reserve Books/Readings (RBR)
 

Reserve Books/Readings (RBR)


Loan Period

This is a quick guide for teaching staff to place copies of high demand library books, photocopies and extracts of journals and books or lecture notes, in the Reserve Books / Readings Collection (RBR). Items in this Collection are loaned out for two-hour periods or overnight which is available two hours before the library closes. Overnight loans must be returned within one hour after the library opens the next working day. RBR items must be returned to the loan counter of the library where it was borrowed. A fine of $1.00 per hour is charged for overdue loan.

Back to top

Request to place library materials in RBR

To recommend an item, just fill in a Recommendation Form giving details of the author, title, date of publication and source of extract, as well as your name and course number. The Recommendation Form is available at the various libraries and also in electronic format via our Library Homepage.

To access the electronic form for a Book,
1. Go to the NUS Library Homepage at http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/  
2. Click the "LOGIN" button
3. Click on E-Forms in the menu
4. At the E-Forms menu, select "Request to Place a Book in Reserve (RBR)"

For electronic forms for a Book Chapter and Journal Article,
You may access these forms directly from the Course Pack/E-Reserve System using the link below:
"Request to Place Book Chapter/Journal Article in Reserve (RBR)"

Back to top

Processing time for RBR Collection

Please remember to submit items at least 6 working days before they are required for reading by students to allow time for processing. Bear in mind too that some books may be on loan when you request them for RBR and the library needs to recall them. In the event where items are required to be place in RBR urgently, the library may expedite processing if you bring the items and together with the completed Recommendation form(s) to the Library.

Back to top

Finding materials in RBR

Users can search for the items placed in RBR through LINC by looking for the author or title of the item. In addition, LINC also allows users to search specifically by lecturer's name by clicking on RBR COLLECTION (Lecturer's Name) or course number by clicking on RBR COLLECTION (Course Number). Please note that searching by Lecturer's name and Course Number is not applicable to the Medical Library RBR Collection.

For detailed instructions, please refer to LION guide on 
How to Search LINC: RBR Collection

Back to top

Items not available in the Library Collection

If an item that has been recommended is not available in the Library, a rush order will be sent to our suppliers. It may take about two weeks to obtain a new book locally. For books not available locally, it may take one to two months to fulfill the orders. If an article you wish to place in the RBR is not available in the Library, the Library will try to obtain a copy through our Document Delivery Services. The request form for document delivery is also available through our Digital Library under Electronic Forms for Library Services.

Back to top

Photocopies

Teaching staff are responsible for providing the photocopies of the chapter of books or articles of journals to the Library.

For teaching staff making multiple copies, in addition to the recommendation forms, a "Record of Copying" should be completed in accordance with Section 52 of the Singapore Copyright Act. 

The recommendation forms are also available in electronic format from our Digital Library under "Electronic Forms for Library Services."

Book Chapters
Journal Articles

For your convenience, the Library will accept filled Copyright forms in place of Recommendation forms as the information in the Copyright form is sufficient for the Library to catalogue the items.

All photocopied items kept in the RBR Collection must comply with Section 52 of the Copyright Act of Singapore.

Back to top

Management of Collection

Teaching staff can request for items to be removed from the RBR Collection at any point in time through filling in the necessary Eform. The Library will also periodically, in consultation with the recommenders, remove materials from the RBR Collection.

The Library will inform teaching staff if any of their recommendations in the collection are missing or mutilated.

Back to top

Enquiries

Each library maintains its own RBR Collection. Teaching staff should send their recommendations and enquiries to the staff of the respective libraries as follows:

Central Library
Ms Rani or Ms Miskiah
E-mail :   
Telephone : 6872-1595

Chinese Library
Ms Chong Loy Yin
E-mail :   
Telephone : 6516-6237

C J Koh Law Library
Ms Lim Bee Toh
Email :   
Telephone : 6516-2043

Hon Sui Sen Memorial Library
Ms Catherine, Ng Siew Teck
Email :   
Telephone : 6516-3031

Medical Library
Mr Matthew Khew
E-mail :   
Telephone : 6516-2046

Science Library
Ms Dinah Chan
E-mail :  
Telephone : 6516-2509 

Back to top



 
 
Content by:
Last updated: 17-06-2008