Guide to Library Services

     
 




Library Services

Basic Services & Facilities
Additional Services for Academic Staff
Additional Services for Graduate students
Digital Library
Document Delivery Services (DDS)
E-Reserve via IVLE
Library Information Online Services (LOIS)
Reserve Books/Readings (RBR)
 
 

Library Online Information Service (LOIS) for NUS Staff & Students

LOIS aims to provide a means of retrieving information from overseas databases on a wide range of subjects offered by different online services.

Who can use LOIS?
What can LOIS do for you?
What are the advantages of online searching?
How is an online search done?
How is a TREND search done?
How much does a search cost?
What databases are available?
 


Who can use LOIS?

The LOIS service is available to NUS academic and research staff and NUS graduate students.

Back to top

What can LOIS do for you?

If you have used the electronic resources in the Library and you are still not able to find the information you want, you can request for LOIS.

  • Bibliographic searches 
    At the end of the search you will be provided with references to journal articles, conference papers, books, theses, research reports, current news or patents in your subject area. The references include the authors, the title and the source. Abstracts of the articles are also available from many databases. 
     
  • Non-bibliographic searches 
    Some databases offer the full text of law reports, full text of articles, newspapers, statistical data; biographical data; corporate financial data; chemical nomenclature and structure.
Back to top

What are the advantages of online searching?

  1. Currency
    Databases are updated more frequently than printed sources and CD-ROMs.
     
  2. Time-saving
    Multiple concepts can be easily and quickly executed and for many years with the results printed immediately. 
     
  3. Flexibility
    More access points can be searched. 
     
  4. Comprehensiveness 
    Multiple databases can be searched for a particular subject and a wide variety of databases is available including those not held in the Library. 
Back to top

How is an online search done?

  • Requests for online searches are made on LOIS Request Form available at http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/guides/loisnusf.pdf
  • Requests have to be approved by the Head of department before they are sent to the appropriate Library.
  • When your request is received, a reference librarian will contact you to discuss the search topic, key concepts, key words, appropriate databases, costs and make an appointment to do the search. 
  • The search strategy is prepared from the information given and the search is conducted in your presence.
Back to top

How is a TREND search done?

You can request statistical data on Singapore to be downloaded for your from the TREND database produced by the Department of Statistics. It is only available to NUS students as specified by the database producer.

  1. Get the TREND Request Form available at http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/guides/loistren.pdf or at Central Library Information Desk.
  2. Check the TREND Directory kept at the Central Library Information Desk for the matrix and series numbers of the data required. 
  3. Requests must be directly related to your work in NUS and endorsed by your supervisor and the Head of Department. 
  4. Hand in completed form at the Central Library Information Desk. 
  5. The data will be downloaded and emailed to you in Excel format within 4 working days. 
Back to top

How much does a search cost?

Charges will vary according to the database used, the time spent online and the amount of information printed. The cost of a LOIS search comprises database connect cost, telecommunications cost, print or download costs. Depending on the above three variables, the cost of a search can range from S$50 to S$700. 

For NUS academic / research staff & graduate students 

  • Paying Searches 
    LOIS searches can be paid using your research grant, departmental vote or billed to you personally. Staff are advised to include estimates for using LOIS when applying for research grants. 
     
  • Non-paying Searches 
    LOIS searches can be conducted even if you do not have a research grant, or have not made provisions for online searches in your research grant. The search requests must be directly related to your work in the University and endorsed by the Head of the Department. 
Back to top

What databases are available?

Local Online Service Subscribed

  1. TREND 
    For statistical data published by Singapore government departments such as gross domestic product or exchange rates of Singapore. 
    Available at Central Library for NUS students only. 

TREND Request Form available at http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/guides/loistren.pdf  

Overseas Online Services Subscribed

  1. STN 
    For scientific and technical information from over 200 databases. 
    Available at Central Library, Science Library. 
     
    LOIS Request Form available at http://www.lib.nus.edu.sg/guides/loisnusf.pdf  

For more details, contact the LOIS Coordinator at   or telephone 6874-2030 or check with the staff at the Information Desks of the various libraries. 

Back to top



 
 
Content by:
Last updated: 13-03-2008