|
|
|
|
About Databases |
 |
The Cochrane Library provides access to databases such as the Cochrane
Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of
Effectiveness, Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, Cochrane Methodology
Register (formerly 'Review Methodology Database'), Health
Technology Assessment Database and the National Health Service (NHS)
Economic Evaluation Database. It enables users to make well-informed
decisions about health care. |
 |
Digital Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest)
ProQuest Digital Dissertations contains citations and abstracts of
doctoral dissertations and master's theses submitted to over 1,000 North
American graduate schools, European and Australian universities.
Abstracts are provided from 1980. It is equivalent to Dissertation
Abstracts Ondisc (CD-ROM) and in print to Dissertation Abstracts
International, American Doctoral Dissertations and Comprehensive
Dissertation Index. It has over 1.5 million bibliographic records with
over 1 million with full text. Produced by University Microfilms
International. |
 |
Food Science & Technology Abstracts is designed to meet the needs
of those looking for fast and efficient access to the world's literature
for the and drinks sector. It covers every aspect of food science, food
products, and food packaging for all commodities. FSTA contains
information from scientific journals as well as information from patents,
books, conference proceedings, reports, pamphlets, and legislation in more
than 40 languages. All abstracts are in English. ore than 20,000 records
are added annually. FSTA is available on the SilverPlatter platform and is
linked to full-text journals. |
 |
IEEE Xplore is produced
by the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. It contains the
full-text publications such as conference proceedings, periodicals and
standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
(IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). IEEE Xplore
contains publications which IEEE or IEE has the sole copyright and starts
from 1988 onwards. Updated monthly. 1988- |
 |
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts contains citations with
abstracts to literature dealing with the development and the use of drugs
and the aspects of professional pharmaceutical practice. Subject coverage
includes pharmaceuticals and the pharmaceutical industry, pharmaceutical
technology, institutional pharmacy practice, adverse drugs reactions and
toxicity, investigational drugs, drugs evaluations and interactions,
biopharmaceutics and pharmaceutics, drug stability, drug analysis, drug
metabolism and body regulations, history, sociology, economics, and ethics
of drugs, pharmaceutical education, pharmacy practice, information
processing, cosmetics and related health topics. Updated monthly. |
 |
MD Consult is a web-based online medical information service
founded by the world's leading medical publishers, Mosby, W.B. Saunders,
and Lippincott Williams & Wilkins. It provides access to over 30
renowned medical texts, more than 45 medical journals and Clinics of
North America, yearbooks, over 600 clinical practice guidelines
contributed by more than 50 medical societies and government agencies,
as well as to Mosby's GenRx, the leading drug reference with information
on over 30,000 medications. MD Consults also contains nearly 3000
patient education handouts which you can customise with your own notes
and comments, 450 continuing education modules and daily medical updates
customised to your interest. |
 |
MEDLINE (via PubMed)
Developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at
the National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed provides access to over
11 million citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, HealthSTAR,
publisher-supplied citations, and other related databases, with links
via the “Linkout” feature to participating online journals. It also
provides access and links to the molecular biology databases available
at NCBI. These databases contain DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein
structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete
genomes in an integrated system. |
 |
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
includes the following indexes produced by the Institute of Scientific
Information (ISI). It also allows cited reference searches:
1) Social Science Citation Index, 1988-
2) Science Citation Index Expanded, 1988-
3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1993- |
|